Beth Johnson of UH Sugar Land takes over as chair of the Central Fort Bend Chamber

Cindy Reaves, CLR Strategies,2020 Chair, Central Fort Bend Chamber Board of Directors, passes on the gavel to Beth Johnson, University of Houston, 2021 Chair.
Malisha Patel of Memorial Hermann Hospital and Jimmy Cantu of Pier 36 were honored as the Business Partner of the Year and Business Person of the Year, respectively, by the Central Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce at its annual gala and awards celebration last Friday, Nov.13.

Wagas Kurjee of Moddy Bank was recognized as the board member of the year in the gala celebration. About 200 guests attended the virtual gala, chaired by Laura Thompson.

“We’re taking the COVID-19 pandemic very seriously and the health of our members, sponsors and volunteers is of great importance to us. That is why we made the difficult decision to hold our gala virtually this year,” said Kristin Weiss, President and CEO of the Central Fort Bend Chamber.

For more than 110 years, the Central Fort Bend Chamber has been a leading catalyst for the businesses in our community. During the Gala, we celebrated those who have made a positive impact in our community throughout the year.

Among other award recipients were: Achievement in Economic Development – Traci Nolen, Workforce Solutions Rosenberg; and Community Impact Awards – Gladys Brumfield-James, Catholic Charities Mamie George Community.

The Chamber thanked and recognized the following individuals as they retired from the Board of Directors: Ray Aguilar; Craig Kalkomey, LJA Engineering; Clyde King, Fort Bend Herald; and Alicen Swift, Houston Methodist Sugar Land Hospital.

The chamber welcomed four new members to the Board of Directors: Kyle Atchison, Frost Bank; Megan Crutcher, Odyssey Engineering Group; Benjamin Deist, Edward Jones; and Mike Jolley, Windstream.

The gavel was passed from 2020 Chairman Cindy Reaves of CLR Strategies to Beth Johnson of the University of Houston, who will serve as the 2021 Chairman of the Board.

This year’s Fire & Ice themed annual gala was made possible by the following sponsors: Gold Sponsor: Orsted, Silver Sponsors: CenterPoint Energy, Gurecky Manufacturing, LJA Engineering, MD Anderson Cancer Center, Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital, NRG Energy, Odyssey Engineering Group, Paradigm Consultants and S & B Infrastructure. Additional sponsors included: Auction – Windstream Communications, DJ – Gillen Pest Control, Bar – Costello, Inc., Wine Pull – TruCore Business Development and Heads or Tails – Chesmar Homes. We would also like to thank our Corporate Sponsors and Community Connection Sponsors.

The proceeds from the event will help the Central Fort Bend Chamber uphold their mission by supporting their business and community programs.

For more information regarding the Chamber and its programs, you can visit the Central Fort Bend Chamber website at or call 281-342-5464.

Laura Thompson, left, Chair, 2020 Fire & Ice Gala, Kristin Weiss, President & CEO, Central Fort Bend Chamber, Beth Johnson, 2021 CFB Chamber Chair and Cindy Reaves, 2020 CFB Chamber Chair.