2020 Houston Film Critics Society Awards

Frances McDormand in the film NOMADLAND. Photo Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures.
Larry W. Harrison aka Larry H. our local film reviewer who has been a member of the Houston Film Critic Society since 2009 brings us the big news of their annual movie awards.

And the envelope please: Nomadland as Best Picture of 2020 starring Frances McDormand and directed by Chloe Zhao.

Chloé Zhao’s “Nomadland” takes top honors, named Best Picture of the Year by the Houston Film Critics Society (HFCS).

Zhao was also named Best Director while Joshua James Richards was honored for his cinematography.

The film stars Frances McDormand as a modern-day nomad living in a van after losing her job in the Great Recession.

“After losing everything in the Great Recession, a woman embarks on a journey through the American West, living as a van-dwelling modern-day nomad.”

In lieu of COVID-19, the 14th Annual HFCS Film Awards will move from an in-person ceremony to a televised event.

The 40 members of the Houston Film Critics Society are working film journalists on television, radio, online and in traditional print.

“We look forward to further spotlighting all of our HFCS award winners,” says President Doug Harris, “during our first television broadcast on January 31, 4:00 p.m. CST, on Houston’s KUBE-TV.

“That programming will also celebrate our Texas Independent Film Award nominees and feature the announcement of the winners of our special honors for filmmaking in the state.”

Houston Film Critics Society Awards

Best Picture


Best Director

Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Carey Mulligan, “Promising Young Woman”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

Best Original Screenplay

“Promising Young Woman”

Best Animated Feature


Best Cinematography


Best Documentary Feature

“My Octopus Teacher”

Best Foreign Language Feature

“A Sun” (Taiwan)

Best Original Score


Best Original Song

“Speak Now” from “One Night in Miami”

Best Visual Effects


Best Stunt Coordination Team


Best Movie Poster Art

“Da 5 Bloods”

Outstanding Cinematic Achievement

“Sound of Metal” (for its Immersive Sound Design)

Texas Independent Film Awards

To be announced on January 31